LACOE Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Laurie San Miguel, Cameron Elementary School teacher, who was selected as one of the 16 Los Angeles County Teachers of the Year!!!  Mrs. San Miguel was selected from a pool of candidates representing approximately 80 districts within Los Angeles County and 27 semi-finalists.   Mrs. San Miguel was recently recognized at the Los Angeles County Teachers of the Year Awards Banquet on September 24th and was accompanied by Eileen Miranda Jimenez (Board of Education President), Juan Lopez (Interim Superintendent), Sylvia Fullerton (Cameron Elementary Principal), and Cynthia Okamoto (Cameron Elementary TOSA). Mrs. San Miguel and the other Los Angeles County Teachers of the Year have advanced to the state-level competition.  In late October, the State Superintendent will announce the five California Teachers of the Year and one National Teacher of the Year nominee.  We wish Mrs. San Miguel the best of luck in the process!